Day 8 of what I thought was hot this year 2011

Hop Hop Album: Talib Kweli Gutter Rainbow

gutter rainbow

It’s Kweli, that’s all you need to know. There’s a receptiveness to Talib Kweli but he always does just enough to make each album it’s own venture. Gutter Rainbow has a much funkier sound to it, sometimes louder than I would thought a Kweli album could be. Still this album gets it’s message across and that’s always the point for those who have a message to bring.

Hip Hop Song: Nas Nasty

Yeah this and ‘B Boy Stance” are really throwback singles of the year to me. It felt good to hear Nas kill it on some old Nas shit. Don’t get it twisted this really is Hip Hop in it’s truest right here and it always take Nas to bring that shit to the forefront. I don’t listen to radio so I don’t know if this had the same impact on radio “Made You Look” did but I know all the mix shows I listen to did keep this in rotation for awhile.

Non Hip Hop Album: Lady Antebellum Own The Night

Lady Antebellum Own The Night

Well let me explain how I even thought about getting this album first. I heard “Dancin’ Away With My Heart” on some weekend program and thought it was dope. From there I checked the album and never heard of this group before that day. The plus side this is just their third album so I’m not that behind. There’s a Country Rock vibe that is just unavoidable and I personally wouldn’t want to try to at all. It makes the band really sound good and different since the two genres aren’t really brought together well without one having to be totally compromise one of them, mostly the Country music. Own The Night is a solid album and if this is your kind of music it’s a must have. I’m just starting to listen to the first two albums.

Leave a Reply

