Sunday Soul Session: Mother’s Day Edition

Sunday Soul Session logo

I was going to put this mix together for my moms birthday and just had stuff on my plate and really didn’t want to go down that road of really digging for her personal favorites. I changed my mind at the very last moment when it came to even doing this mix. First off I didn’t know if I wanted to say something in the mix so I chose not to. All the little audio clips I had ready to throw in the mix didn’t make it in here either, kinda glad that may have come off corny more than sincere. I chose to go with songs my mom kept in major rotation as I grew up because she really was the driving force for my love for music.  This tracklist might not be all the more popular stuff of its time but music itself was so wide open back then, I need to chill because I can easily slide into a whole different topic. So I dedicate this mix to mom and hope to do more because she used to have me be her personal DJ many of nights as a kid so I just need to keep digging. click here to listen

  1. The Intruders – I’ll Always Love my Momma
  2. The Temptations – Ain’t Too Proud To Beg
  3. Gwen McCrae – Rockin Chair
  4. Rufus Thomas – Push And Pull
  5. Shalamar – The Second time Around
  6. Cheryl Lynn – Encore
  7. The Main Ingredient – Everybody Plays The Fool
  8.  The Hue Corporation – Rock The Boat
  9. Otis Redding and Carla Thomas – tramp
  10. McFadden and Whitehead – Ain’t No Stopping Us Now
  11. Cheryl Lynn – Got to Be Real
  12. Gladys Knight & The Pips – Love Overboard
  13. Maze feat. Frankie Beverly – Back in Stride Again
Leave a Reply

