Should Spike Lee have said anything

Spike Lee VIbeTV

“I cant speak on it ’cause I’m not gonna see it. “All I’m going to say is that it’s disrespectful to my ancestors. That’s just me…I’m not speaking on behalf of anybody else.”

– Spike Lee

As someone who frequents Hip Hop blogs I can tell you fucked up comments from artists are on every other post, video interview, radio interview and even more from readers in the comment box. So when whoever interviewed Spike Lee for VibeTV asked about Django Unchained they had to know Spike Lee and Quentin Tarantino’s history. This is the first major comment publicly from Spike Lee about the movie so you know this was a setup question knowing Spike Lee would say something like this. VibeTV looked to gain heat off of an old rivalry, which they did by the way because this story is everywhere.

Truth is a large number of African Americans love to see anything with Jamie Foxx in it, more than they do with Will or Denzel or even those not so good Chris Rock and Eddie flicks. I don’t know of many African Americans breaking their necks to see Flight. You add in the fact that the movie is about a slave hunting white people down and you have a generation of African Americans who have no idea about our history here in America because everything is so PC in schools and this looks good to them. If Spike Lee had tried to make a movie somewhat like this it would have been deep as hell and boring to the average African American today. I say African American today because you can see the generation gap in the comments on any site that posted this Spike Lee comment. Older African Americans agree with Spike Lee while younger ones are calling him a hater or what history they do know they speak on how slaves were sold in Africa by Black people as if that made a point.

What people don’t get is what Spike Lee is really saying. What rather WHO Spike Lee is boycotting is Quentin Tarantino. Spike isn’t cool with the way Tarantino is in love with the word “Nigger” or in love with the way he has Nigger card and uses it recklessly in his films. Even then the generation gap comes into play. There are those of us who know and have heard white people say the word because it is in their favorite songs and stand up, A lot of white people love Kevin Hart and Katt Williams and that is considered art, so to are the movies, so why be pissed at Tarantino? The difference is Eminem makes music with African Americans, Action Bronson makes music with African Americans and neither man says nigga. Tarantino is the writer of his films which means he sits down and writes “nigger” how ever many times for the script and there is the problem Spike Lee has with the film. Tarantino has a film about slavery, so if he was heavy handed wit the “nigger” in say Jackie Brown he might have went crazy with the word for Django Unchained. I haven’t seen the movie yet and I do plan on seeing it. I personally hope it is a good film and is done tastefully. I do get and understand where the skepticism comes from too.

One thought on “Should Spike Lee have said anything

  1. A well written article.I personally love Tarantino.I am British of African descent and don’t have a problem with the word Nigger.We can’t pick on who says the word “Nigger”,if we want to put an end to it we have to start with the hip hop community.It’s rather too late the damage for me comes from Hip Hop. I love my hip hop but I can say I am part of the problem too as I do listen to the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

