Sunday Soul Session: Combat Jack and Francis Chiser Present ‘PG-14, A Tribute To Larry Levan Circa 1986 – 1987′

I know i haven’t done of these i n a long time, I haven’t done much posting consistently in a long time. School is back in session so I’ll have more time. Anyway peep this throwback mix, it’s a gem. read all about it below.

If you know me, you know I’m a Paradise Garage head, and if you really know New York City, you’ll know that the Paradise Garage was the GOAT New York night club.

Maestro Larry Levan spun magic weekly and house music has never been the same. For years I’ve searched for a classic sounding Paradise Garage mixtape circa 1985 – 1987, arguably the club’s best years before it closed its doors in 1987. Frustrated, I settled for never getting my hands on such a tape.

A few weeks ago, friend and Internets colleague Francis Chiser asked me if I’d be down to curate a Garage tape that would capture the magic of the club’s ’85 – ’87 heyday. Jumping in, I wanted to make sure we featured music that I personally heard Larry play as he slayed. Francis and I vetted through hundreds of songs that got touched by Larry.

Weeks later, we proudly present to you ‘PG – 14, A Tribute To Larry Levan Circa ’85 – 87′. Listen to this as a 3 hour time capsule reflecting a very special time in my life and in New York underground culture.

A heartfelt thank you to Francis Chiser who, in recruiting me, helped me relive the some of the best times of my youth. Thanks also to the ever reliable Theotis Jones for his artwork capturing the retro gritty look of mid NYC iconography.

Enough. Press download and Jack your body.

 

Reggie Ossé – Combat Jack
August 28, 2014

1. Taana Gardner – Heartbeat
2. Linda Clifford – Runaway Love
3. Womack & Womack – I’m Scared of You
4. Gwen Guthrie – Aint Nothin Goin On But The Rent
5. Touch – Without You
6. NYC Peech Boys – Don’t Make Me Wait
7. The Clash – The Magnificent Seven
8. Diane Ross – Love Hangover
9. Grace Jones – Pull Up The Bumper
10. The It – Donnie
11. Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime
12. Liz Torres – Can’t Get Enough
13. ESG – Moody
14. Ten City – Devotion
15. Jungle Wonz – The Jungle
16. Loose Joints – Is It All Over My Face?
17. Inner Life – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
18. Robert Owens – I’ll Be Your Friend
19. First Choice – Double Cross
20. Mr. Fingers – Can You Feel It
21. Jungle Wonz – Time Marches On
22. Fingers Inc. – Mystery of Love
23. Raze – Break 4 Love
24. Third World – Now That We Found Love
25. Chip E – Life This
26. Jeanette “JT” Thomas – Shake Your Body
27. Steve “Silk” Hurley – Jack Your Body
28. Marshall Jefferson – Move Your Body
29. Ralph Rosario – You Used to Hold Me
30. Frankie Knuckles feat Jamie Principle – Baby Wants To Ride
31. Gil Scott-Heron – The Bottle
32. Roy Ayers – Running Away
33. Cyamnde – Bra
34.  First Choice – Let No Man Put Asunder
35. Joubert Singers – Stand On the World
36. Stevie Wonder – All I Do
Leave a Reply

