Day 1 Of What I Thought Was Hot This Year

Hip Hop Album: Dr Dre: Compton

0037291e_medium

Something has to be said for someone like Andre Young, who is still relevant today as he was in 1987. Of course the average Hip Hop fan knows the good doctor for his headphones and his label which has one of the greatest MCs of all time on the roster. During the summer Dr Dre reintroduced himself to the world musically and the results were phenomenal. The album was relevant and up to date with a distinct sound that you’re still not getting anywhere else. Compton was a companion piece to the movie Straight Outta Compton and the summer belonged to the West coast.

Hip Hop Song:  Knxwledge Feat Anderson .Paak : Suede

From the moment I heard “Yes Lord” my favorite song became”Suede”. The beat complimenting Anderson’s voice and dare I say swagger makes this song instantly one of those songs that stays on your mind. Anderson .Paak has his Iceberg Slim game way up on this song. Add this to the all star contribution he gave on Compton, Anderson .Paak has had a great second half of the year.

Non Hip Hop Album: The Internet:

the-internet-ego-death

I can’t remember what made me go to Amazon and check for The Internet but once I saw there was a new release I ordered it without even trying to listen to sample tracks. There is something about this album that is grounded while still working to be more as the group just subtlety sounds different.

Non Hip Hop Song: Major Lazer & DJ Snake feat. MØ – Lean On

Can’t remember when this song became a must have in my music collection, but I wanted it. It’s a nice simple song that makes you feel good. I know I’m the king of hating Pop, Dance and God knows EDM but I like this song.

Leave a Reply

